Working to end food insecurity at KU

Committee Charges

 

Food Security Committee Charges

  • Identify current campus emergency assistance resources available for KU Student to better understand gaps in aid.
  • Collaborate with key departments on campus to educate on current food insecurity rates and campus resources.
  • Develop of a strategic campaign to share research on food insecurity rates on the University of Kansas campus.
  • Duplicate the food insecurity research project to better understand faculty, staff, and graduate student food security status.
  • Research peer institutions to learn more about successful programs, services, and best practices to help students in need of emergency assistance resources.
  • Develop a proposal for university wide policy and procedural changes to help students in need of emergency assistance. 

 


 

Food for Jayhawks Committee Members

 

name department email
Stacey Swearingen White (Chair 2018-19) Urban Planning sswhite@ku.edu
Rachel Auten Student Affairs rauten@ku.edu
Emily Bruggeman Center for Community Outreach cco@ku.edu
Kim Criner Center for Sustainability kcriner@ku.edu
Linda Dixon Center for Service Learning ldixon@ku.edu
Trey Duran Student Senate senatediversity@ku.edu
Christine Ebert KU Dining Services cmebert@ku.edu
Kelsey Fortin Health, Sport and Exercise Sciences kelseyf123@ku.edu
Patty Fugitt Center for Educational Opportunity Programs pfugitt@ku.edu
Zuleica Gerardo Student Money Management Services zgerardo@ku.edu
Mauricio Gomez Montoya Jayhawk SOS MauricioGomez@ku.edu
Alexandria Hall Campus Cupboard a588h305@ku.edu
Susan Harvey Health, Sport and Exercise Sciences suharvey@ku.edu
Aftan Jameson Watkins Health Services ajameson@ku.edu
Charles Jetty Student Senate sbvp@ku.edu
Annie McBride Diversity and Equity annie@ku.edu
Andy Monroe Center for Community Outreach cco@ku.edu
Precious Porras Diversity and Equity pporras@ku.edu
Noah Ries Student Body President sbp@ku.edu
Emily Rountree Center for Service Learning emilyrountree@ku.edu
Ally Stanton KU Alumni Association allystanton@ku.edu
Libby Stauffer Student Senate senatecomms@ku.edu
Danielle Sullivan Financial Aid sullivan@ku.edu
Jennifer Wamelink Student Affairs wamelink@ku.edu
Leslie Wilson Undergraduate Advising Center lesliewilson@ku.edu
     

One of 34 U.S. public institutions in the prestigious Association of American Universities
44 nationally ranked graduate programs.
—U.S. News & World Report
Top 50 nationwide for size of library collection.
—ALA
5th nationwide for service to veterans —"Best for Vets: Colleges," Military Times
KU Today